The Soviet Military Awards Page Forum  
  • Serial Numbers Database 2.0
Enter Here

vBClassified Featured Listings
Seeking following Soviet campaign medals for ..,
Echoes of War
Echoes of War

Go Back   The Soviet Military Awards Page Forum > Soviet Awards Forums > Post-Soviet States > Russian Federation

Russian Federation Российская Федерация 25th December 1991 -

Old 11-15-2009, 10:52 PM   #1
csaanv

As one told me that russian navy began to use flags made of synthetic fibers after the collapse of ussr. Is that true?

I am not an expert but I do have a few of the Russian Federation naval flags and unfortunately they are not the wool bunting as the previous USSR navy flags. The coast guard flag is a heavy nylon and the naval ensign and jack are like a heavy cotton, maybe synthetic, but diffidently not wool bunting. It is interesting that these flags are all sewn and not printed as the USSR navy flags.

I should mention that in the few years after the break up of the Soviet Republics that Russia continued to use it's surplus wool bunting for the it's new flags but this seems to have tapered off today. I have a couple of wool St. Andrews which date from the early 90s. Recent photographs have shown that the Russian Navy has gone the way of nylon like the rest of the world. Too bad!
russia.1145516640.14_russian_flag copy.jpg

Last edited by CtahhR; 09-11-2013 at 08:03 AM.
csaanv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-11-2010, 08:40 PM   #2
csaanv

Re: Does Russian navy still use WOOLEN flags today?

In reference to my previous post there was a transition from wool bunting left over from the Soviet Union to nylon that the Russian navy is using today. Here are a few early Russian flags of the 1990s that used the surplus wool bunting.

IMG_1454w.jpg
The entire flag is from wool bunting. The burlap type hoist was re-purposed as you can see the previous Soviet stamp.
IMG_1456w.jpg
The St.Andrews cross canton insert is a synthetic polyester type of bunting.