The Soviet Military Awards Page Forum  
  • Serial Numbers Database 2.0
Enter Here

vBClassified Featured Listings
Echoes of War

Go Back   The Soviet Military Awards Page Forum > Soviet Awards Forums > General And Slightly Off Topic Talk > General Talk Archive

Old 08-13-2002, 12:31 PM   #1
Mozzabloke

Collecting Advice Please

OK, So Im new to collecting medals and I thought I may as well make use of all your brains!

For the time being I have decided to concentrate on the 5 sided suspension medals of WW2 ie Defence, Liberation, Capture and Victory as most of these seem to be at a collectable price and this is the period that interests me the most.

1. Where do you recomend I look for medals (Im already on Ebay)

2 . Is there a definative website or book I can buy showing me what to watch out for in the way of fakes?

3. what do you all consider to be (ball park) reasonable prices for medals of this type & period ie A=? C=? R1=? R2=? and so on

And any other advice is welcome!

Thanks

Mark (MozzaBloke)
Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-2002, 03:12 PM   #2
Ed_Haynes

how to start

My advice:

1) I am fairly new to "things Soviet" -- though not to "things phaleristic" -- so let me keep this general....

2) For the first two years of collecting, spend most of your budget ("budget"? "budget"! ha ha ha!!) on books and other reference sources. Read them, memorize them, worship them. And cross-check what you learn from them against this forum. We all learn daily.

3) Find reliable dealers -- and I do not include eBay in this catagory -- and develop relationships with them. All collectors have their personal preferences in this regard.

4) Realize: You'll find your Defence of Moscow medal anytime. So be on the lookout for the big-ticket, once-in-a-lifetime items. They may eat your remaining budget, but (a) will you ever see them again and (b) will you regret passing them up if you don't get them when they are available? And in this regard I mean especially groups.