The Soviet Military Awards Page Forum  
  • Serial Numbers Database 2.0
Enter Here

vBClassified Featured Listings
Echoes of War

Go Back   The Soviet Military Awards Page Forum > Soviet Awards Forums > General And Slightly Off Topic Talk > General Talk Archive

Old 12-09-2010, 01:26 PM   #1
jcuffe6240

Orders and documents

I am just getting into collecting Soviet orders and would like to guage peoples thoughts on collecting orders with the documents. Do you collect because of low numbers? condition? comes with documents? or something else?

Any advice to this noob would be appreciated.

Thanks, Justin
Sponsored Links
Old 12-09-2010, 03:18 PM   #2
Bob

Re: Orders and documents

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcuffe6240 View Post
I am just getting into collecting Soviet orders and would like to guage peoples thoughts on collecting orders with the documents. Do you collect because of low numbers? condition? comes with documents? or something else?

Thanks, Justin
When I started collecting I was without a sense of direction and just bought stuff (one of each type kind of thing). Later I became more and more focussed and i regret not having that focus from the start. My advice (and really, that's all it is - many different preferences for collecting and as long as people enjoy it that's great):
- go for documented awards (adds some extra richness to it)
- go for documented groups (makes the picture even more complete)
- and research the awards (where possible!)

Finally, and this may trigger a roll of the eyes, in all collecting areas i think it pays off to go for as "high end" as possible from the start. The high end stuff typically becomes more expensive/difficult to find over time... whereas the low end stuff will always be easy to get. Also, on the high end it is perhaps easier to get validation of the authenticity.